John Cage: Complete Song Books by Reinhold Friedl - Karlrecords [KR029] FLAC download included with physical items

John Cage: Complete Song Books

A 92 track ambient album (1h 5m 11s) — released November 18th 2016 on Karlrecords

" … to consider the Song Books as a work of art is nearly impossible. Who would dare? It resembles a brothel, doesn't it?" John Cage.

Volume 3 in the PERIHEL series on KARLRECORDS is dedicated to one of the most iconic composers of 20th century: JOHN CAGE. All 92 pieces of the "Song Books" in stunning interpretations by REINHOLD FRIEDL, recorded at RASHAD BECKER's Clunk Studio who also contributed live electronics.

JOHN CAGE (1912-1992) is one of the most important composers in modern music: with more than 250 compositions, many of which are considered key works of New Music, and theoretical essays on composition he significantly changed the way we think about and perceive music today. But CAGE not only left a major impact in the academic world, he is also cited as an important inspiration by a wide range of diverse musicians from a younger generation, be it electronic producers, experimentalists or noise artists. His "Song Books", published 1970 in threevolumes, is a collection of open works that contains not only songs but a strange hybrid collection of compositions, graphic scores, meditation rules, experimental settings, absurd musical instructions, performance settings, musical references, and Fluxus-inspired actions such as eating fruits or drinking cognac (CAGE loved whiskey and cognac) …

When REINHOLD FRIEDL (director of the ensemble ZEITKRATZER) entered the CLUNK Studio to record the whole cycle with RASHAD BECKER (who handled the feedback cabinet and live electronics), the idea was quite simple: to approach each single piece in an informal way but to do all 92 pieces in the right order. What came out in the end is a kaleidoscopic lecture and interpretation of the compositions with the help of a strange mixture of ancient and modern tools: new electronics, old and special microphones, self-built instruments, arbitrary garbage sounds, sophisticated live-electronics devices, quotes … "Complete Song Books" turns out to be an early hymn for sonic freedom, a sonic promenade full of beautiful references.

All music composed by John Cage

Constructed by Reinhold Friedl

Performed by

Reinhold Friedl: voice, toys, wooden games, metal objects, complex objects, microphones, garbage, …

Rashad Becker: feedback cabinet, live electronics

Mastered & cut at D&M, Berlin

Artwork by Lillevan

  • Kudos happily ship all items worldwide.
  • Shipping costs and delivery times are available here.
  • UK items are sent tracked as standard at no extra cost.
  • We aim to dispatch orders placed before 2pm on the same day.
  • We are unable to ship orders on weekends or Bank Holidays.
  • If you purchase a pre-order item amongst an order of in-stock releases, we will typically hold your order until all items are in ready to send.
  • Although we use all reasonable means to ensure that your order is delivered within a specified time, we cannot accept any responsibility for late deliveries due to circumstances outside of our control. We will do our best to inform you of any unexpected delay.